FlagRepublic of TAJIKISTAN

Capital: Dushanbe

The Map of Tajikistan

Independence: 9 September 1991 (from SU)

National holiday: National Day, 9 September

Constitution: new constitution adopted 6 November 1994

The current president Emomili RAKHMONOV (since 6 November 1994)

Population: 6,155,474 (July 1995 est.)

Ethnic divisions: Tajik 64.9%, Uzbek 25%, Russian 3.5% (declining because of emigration), other 6.6%

Religions: Sunni Muslim 80%, Shi'a Muslim 5%

Languages: Tajik (official), Russian widely used in government and business

Embassy in Russian Federation